The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of 6 Partner States: The Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. It is home to 172 million citizens of which over 22% is urban population. As one of the fastest growing regional economic blocks in the world, the EAC is widening and deepening co-operation among the partner states in various key spheres for mutual benefit.



A pre-study confirmed the baseline requirements for the implementation of the Tripartite Transport and Transit Facilitation Programme (TTTFP). The findings of the baseline survey performed in 2016 confirmed the extent of compliance with the baseline requirements by 19 of the 21 Tripartite member countries connected by road traffic on the mainland of Africa. During the Baseline Survey the average compliance scores were calculated for each country based on the following criteria:

  • Vehicles
  • Vehicle Fitness
  • Drivers and Professional Drivers
  • Driving Codes
  • Operators
  • Weighbridges
  • Law Enforcement

The EAC was scored by combining the scores of all of it’s member states. The average in 2016 was 22%, with each category score as shown. For more information on the scoring, and each country’s individual score, visit the individual country pages for  the EAC.


The current objective of the EAC is to progress to an East African Federation. This step is being facilitated by encouraging progress of the East African Customs Union and the establishment and implementation of the Common Market and East African Monetary Union Protocols respectively.


The vision of EAC is to be a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically united East Africa.

The mission of the Community is to widen and deepen economic, political, social and cultural integration in order to improve the quality of life of the people of East Africa through increased competitiveness, value added production, trade and investments.

At the core of the EAC are the following beliefs and values:

  • Professionalism;
  • Accountability;
  • Transparency;
  • Teamwork;
  • Unity in Diversity; and
  • Allegiance to EAC Ideals


The strategy of the EAC is centred around the following pillars that facilitate Regional Integration:

  • Customs Union
  • Common Market
  • Monetary Union
  • Political Federation


To achieve regional integration and to reach its objective of becoming an East African Federation, the EAC relies on optimising productivity in a number of sectors, with the main ones being Agriculture and Food Security and Industrialization and Small Medium Enterprises (SME) Development.


Read more about the EAC on their website


Telephone: +255 27 216 2100

Email:  eac@eachq.org