The Southern African Development Community (SADC) was established as a development coordinating conference (SADCC) in 1980 and transformed into a development community in 1992. It is an inter-governmental organisation, comprising of fifteen states. SADC ‘s overall goal is to improve the livelihoods of people within the region.



A pre-study confirmed the baseline requirements for the implementation of the Tripartite Transport and Transit Facilitation Programme (TTTFP). The findings of the baseline survey performed in 2016 confirmed the extent of compliance with the baseline requirements by 19 of the 21 Tripartite member countries connected by road traffic on the mainland of Africa. During the Baseline Survey the average compliance scores were calculated for each country based on the following criteria:

  • Vehicles
  • Vehicle Fitness
  • Drivers and Professional Drivers
  • Driving Codes
  • Operators
  • Weighbridges
  • Law Enforcement

The SADC was scored by combining the scores of all of it’s member states. The average in 2016 was 40%, with each category score as shown. For more information on the scoring, and each country’s individual score, visit the individual country pages for the SADC.


The main objectives of SADC are to achieve economic development, peace and security, and growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through Regional Integration. These objectives are to be achieved through increased Regional Integration, built on democratic principles, and equitable and sustainable development.


The SADC is an inter-governmental organisation whose mission is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper co-operation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy.

To fulfil its mission, SADC is guided by the following principles which are at the core of its values:

  • Sovereign equality of all Member States;
  • Unity, peace and security;
  • Human rights, democracy and rule of law;
  • Equity, balance and mutual benefit; and
  • Peaceful resolution of disputes.


The SADC Vision is to build a region in which there will be a high degree of harmonisation and rationalisation, to enable the pooling of resources to achieve collective self-reliance in order to improve the living standards of the people of the region. The vision of SADC is one of a Common Future, a future within a regional community that will ensure economic well-being, improvement of the standards of living and quality of life, freedom and social justice and peace and security for the people of Southern Africa.


SADC’s strategy is to deepen integration in the region with a view to accelerate poverty eradication and the attainment of other economic and non-economic development goals.


To achieve regional integration and eradicate poverty, member states need to co-operate together harmoniously in achieving effective results on common problems and issues. SADC uses protocols, legally binding documents which enshrine the aims of the community by providing codes of procedure and practise on various issues as agreed by the member states.


Read more about the SADC


Telephone: +267 395 1863